Russia’s Central Asian allies say Afghans will not host refugees

Afghan families fleeing from the districts of Malistan and Jaghori, because of the conflict between Taliban and Afghan forces, arrive in Ghazni
Afghan families fleeing from Malistan and Jaghori districts due to clashes between Taliban and Afghan forces reach Ghazni
FILE PHOTO: Afghan families fleeing Malistan and Jaghori districts due to clashes between Taliban and Afghan forces arrive in Ghazni, Afghanistan, on November 14, 2018. Reuters/Mustafa Andaleb

September 16, 2021

MOSCOW (Reuters) – Members of the Russia-led security bloc that includes some countries in or close to Afghanistan have no plans to host Afghan refugees amid a political and security crisis in the country, bloc member Kazakhstan said on Thursday. Said to

The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) includes three Central Asian nations – Tajikistan, which has long borders with Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan – as well as several more Far East Soviet republics.

At a bloc’s head of state meeting in Tajikistan on Thursday, Kazakh President Kasim-Jomart Tokayev “supported the joint CSTO’s position that the placement of Afghan refugees or foreign military bases in the territories of our countries is unacceptable”, his office said in a testimony. In.

Two more Central Asian nations, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan, border Afghanistan but are not CSTO members. However, Uzbekistan has also said that it will only allow short-term transit of refugees by planes to third countries.

(Reporting by Olzas Ouyazov; Editing by Alex Richardson)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here